Lay Leadership:  Elders    Deacons    Trustees


The Board of Elders: Shepherds of the Flock

Session meets Third Wednesday at 7:00 pm Moderator Rev. Robert Bronkema

Clerk of Session Bill Potter

Christian Education Terry Sweigart  Chair, Alice Eisenhooth

Mission & Finance Mike Carle - Chair, Emily Welk

Outreach & Evangelism/Fellowship Don Johnson - Chair, Sandy Frye, Heather Schnader

Personnel Andrea Petrokonis - Chair, George Pontz

Worship Phil Geiger Chair, June Stum

Trustee Liaison Dan Colvin

The Session is the 12-member governing board of our congregation. Twelve elders, men and women elected by and from the congregation for 3-year terms, constitute the Session which is moderated by our pastor and is responsible for leading us to be effective servants of the Lord’s purposes in the world. Three elders serve on the Fellowship Committee, while two elders serve on each of the Christian Education, Mission & Finance, Personnel, and Worship committees. One elder serves on the Outreach & Evangelism committees.

The Board of Deacons: A Helping Hand

Deacons meet First Wednesday at 7:00 pm

Moderator - Carolyn Groff

Vice Moderator -  David Griffith

Recording Secretary - Erica Puffenberger

Corresponding Secretaries - JoAnn Sweigart, Donna Stettler

Treasurer - Linda Cornelia

Pat Hess  Sandy Hershey  Karen Leslie  Jane Ott  Kieran Rodriguez  Janice Bowers  Dave Russell  Karen Bachman  Debbie DeFranco  Glenna Kirchner


The Office of Deacon is one of sympathy, witness and service after the example of Jesus Christ. The 16-member Board of Deacons is elected by the congregation of First Presbyterian Church of Strasburg for 3-year terms and has a primary responsibility to provide pastoral care within the congregation. The Board elects its own officers.


Deacons provide congregational care by serving as the on-call Deacon of the Month, by visiting shut-ins, and by making phone calls and sending greetings to stay in touch with those in the congregation who need care or remembrance. They provide meals when needed, place roses celebrating newborns in the sanctuary, deliver the sanctuary flowers to shut-ins, prepare our Communion elements and assist with in-home Communion, sponsor an annual blood drive, maintain the church food cupboard and deliver the items collected to food banks, make available daily devotional material, prepare recordings of sermons, and honor high school graduates with a reception.


The Board of Trustees: Caring for God's House

Trustees meet Second Wednesday at 7:00 pm

President - Don Welk, Jr.

Vice President -

Secretary - Raymond Reinmiller

Treasurer - Jane Geiger

Grounds Dick Barge Todd Barge Ron Lowe Leroy Welk

Church Building Dave DeFranco Evans Elias-Lizardo Tom Martin Don Welk, Jr.


Church  Properties Jane Geiger Raymond Reinmiller Dave Rineer Jeff Stoltzfus

The Board of Trustees of First Presbyterian Church of Strasburg is composed of men and women with various talents who have been elected to serve 3-year terms. Ages of committee members are not important. We are all serving the Lord by caring for the church’s properties. Our meetings are monthly; however, many other hours are spent maintaining the grounds and facilities. Members share their talents by performing tasks that care for the church inside and out. The congregation has an opportunity to share in the work of the committee when we have the annual spring beautification of the church grounds.


Comments are closed.